Home Page

Important Dates

Latest News

Location & Directions


College Accommodation

Hotel Accommodation

Submit Abstract



Satellite Symposia

Satellite Dinner

Sponsors & Exhibitors

Conference Charta

About Cambridge

NT12 Bursaries



NT11 International Conference on the Science and Application of Nanotubes

University of Cambridge, Cambridge, 10 – 16 July, 2011

The NT11 conference has now finished, and we would like to thank all of the delegates for their participation. The Conference Photo can be found below, and more photos can be downloaded from photograph page. Further information on Poster Prize winners is also available. The NT12 conference in 2012 will be held in Brisbane, Australia.

NT11 Conference Photo

The NT11 Conference was sponsored by the following:

NT10 Conference on Carbon Nanotubes

NT10 header

Thomas Swan & Co. Ltd

Thomas Swan

Trinity College, Cambridge

Trinity College

Cambridge Integrated Knowledge Centre (CIKC)


Cambridge CNT Society

Cambridge CNT Society Logo

Q-Flo Ltd.

Q-Flo Ltd.

RSC Publishing

RSC Publishing

American Elements

American Elements

NanoIntegris Inc.

Nanointegris Inc.

US Office of Naval Research Global

US Office of Naval Research Global

Conference Scope

Carbon nanotubes have many fascinating properties, owing to their quasi one-dimensional structure. This creates a wide range of issues for fundamental research, as well as a wealth of opportunities for technological application. Progress in the field over the past few years has been remarkable, and applications for this unique material are starting to make the move from the laboratory into the mainstream. In the tradition of the NT conference series, this meeting brought together leading researchers in the area of nanotube science and technology together to evaluate the current state of the art and to identify current trends. The conference encompassed the frontiers of fundamental science as well as applied research, and helped to enable and encourage participants to exchange their latest ideas and results.

Topics that received special attention included:

Confirmed Invited speakers

Konstantin Novoselov, University of Manchester
Stephanie Reich, Freie Universität Berlin
Boris Yakobson, Rice University
Tony Heinz, Columbia University
Jonathan Coleman, Trinity College Dublin
Richard Martel, Université de Montréal
Kenji Hata, AIST Japan
Krzysztof Koziol, University of Cambridge
Seunghyun Baik, Sungkyunkwan University
Jin Zhang, Peking University
Rodney Ruoff, University of Texas at Austin
Hiromichi Kataura, AIST Japan
Vicki Stone, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburggh
C.N.R. Rao, JNCSAR, Bangalore
Catherine Journet, CNRS Lyon

Confirmed Tutorial speakers

Byung Hee Hong, Sungkyunkwan University
Andrew Bleloch
, Halcyon Molecular, California
Feliciano Giustino, University of Oxford
Andreas Hirsch, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Format of the Conference

The main "general session" of the NT11 conference was 4 days long with a combination of plenary talks (6 keynotes and 9 invited), contributed presentations (41 selected from submitted abstracts), and poster sessions (8 sessions).

Following the main conference were 5 satellite symposia, each up to 2 days long, addressing specific topics, and each with additional invited talks and contributed talks selected from submitted abstracts.

Please see satellite page for more information about confirmed satellite symposium topics. There was also a tutorial session on Sunday afternoon, before the main conference, with a selection of overview lectures from international speakers covering many of topics featured in the main conference.

At the poster sessions, there were also be exhibitors displaying materials and equipment of interest to nanotube researchers.

NT11 Local Organizing Committee

Eleanor Campbell (University of Edinburgh, UK)
James Elliott (University of Cambridge, UK)
Andrea Ferrari (University of Cambridge, UK)
Nicole Grobert (University of Oxford, UK)
Ian Kinloch (University of Manchester, UK)
John Robertson (University of Cambridge, UK)
Milo Shaffer (Imperial College London, UK)
Alan Windle [Chairman] (University of Cambridge, UK)

Founder of NT conference series

David Tománek (Michigan State University, USA)

Past Conferences

NT99: Michigan State University, USA
NT01: Potsdam, Germany
NT02: Boston College, USA
Seoul National University, Korea
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Göteborg, Sweden
Nagano, Japan
Ouro Preto, Brazil
Montpellier, France
Beijing, China
NT10: Montréal, Canada
NT11: Cambridge, UK

Future Conference

NT12: Brisbane, Australia (note Bursary scheme available for students)