



THE ARMOURERS AND BRASIERS' CAMBRIDGE FORUM TUESDAY, 17th June 2014

Sponsors: AWE; BRE; Institute of Materials, Minerals & Mining; Institute of Physics; Morgan Advanced Materials; Rolls Royce; Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851; Tata Steel; TWI

1.15 **Registration:** Pippard Lecture Theatre, Department of Physics, Cavendish Laboratory, J J Thomson Avenue, Cambridge CB3 0HE

THE GORDON SEMINARS TO BE HELD IN THE PIPPARD LECTURE THEATRE

- 1.45 Welcoming remarks: Professor William Bonfield *CBE FRS FREng FMedSci* (Past Master A&B; Chairman of the A&B Materials Science Committee)
- Session I Chair: Professor Harry Bhadeshia FRS FREng
- 1.50 *Reflections on surface science* **Dr Stuart M. Clarke**, Reader, BP Institute and Department of Chemistry, Cambridge University, and a BP Technology Fellow
- 2.20 *Chemical sensors and the MSM: The past, the present and the future* **Dr John Saffell**, Technical Director at Alphasense Ltd
- 2.50 Developing next-generation steels from the atomic and nanoscale Dr Francisca G. Caballero, Deputy Director for Science, Spanish National Research Centre for Metallurgy (CENIM-CSIC)
- 3.20 3.55 *Tea and Poster Display adjoining rooms*
- Session II Chair: Professor Sir Colin Humphreys CBE FRS FREng
- 3.55 *Materials needs in the UKs nuclear programme* **Professor W. E. Lee**, Department of Materials and Centre for Nuclear Engineering, Imperial College London
- 4.25 Processing of smart composite materials, towards tailored damping and matrix healing **Professor Véronique Michaud**, Laboratory of Polymer and Composite Technology, Director of the Materials Science and Engineering Section, EPFL Lausanne
 - Chair: Professor William Bonfield CBE FRS FREng FMedSci
- 4.55 *Armourers & Brasiers' Materials Science Venture Prize* presented by Mr Jonathan S. Haw (Master of the Armourers & Brasiers' Company)
- 5.10 5.20 *Short break*

THE SIXTEENTH KELLY LECTURE

Chair: Professor Lindsay Greer FIMMM: Tony Kelly (1929–2014) and the Kelly Lecture

- 5.20 *Made-to-measure surfaces* **Professor Nicholas D. Spencer** Department of Materials, ETH Zurich, and President, ETH Research Commission
- 6.20 Vote of Thanks: Professor Alan Windle FRS