skip to content

31 October 2023

ArtioSense Limited, a spin-out from the University of Cambridge has been awarded the Institute of Physics Lee Lucas Award for the team’s development of novel microfluidics-based force sensing technology for addressing a key unmet clinical need in joint replacement surgery.

ArtioSense comprises a highly inter-disciplinary team, with the founders including Professor of Materials Science Sohini Kar-Narayan, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon Vikas Khanduja, biophysicist Jehangir Cama and translational scientist Alex Samoshkin. Speaking on behalf of the founding team, Dr Cama said, "We at ArtioSense are delighted and honoured to have won the IOP's Lee Lucas Award in 2023. ArtioSense aims to bring novel force-sensing technology into the operating theatre to assist orthopaedic surgeons to correctly position and balance implants. This award recognises ArtioSense's multi-disciplinary nature, with physical scientists working closely with a surgeon to solve a clinical unmet need."

Professor Kar-Narayan and her co-founders were invited to Parliament to attend the 2023 IOP Business Awards Parliamentary Reception hosted by Rt Hon Sir Alok Sharma, where they received their Award.