skip to content

Professor Oliver speaks at the Commons Science and Technology Select Committee

07 February 2019

Professor Rachel Oliver spoke to the UK's Parliament's Commons Select Committee about diversity in science last week, particularly in relation to the need for an inquiry into equality and diversity considerations in research council funding decisions.  The Science and Technology Committee...

Read more

View our Science Festival events online....

22 January 2019

The Cambridge Science Festival 2019 programme is now available online.  Visit our events listings to see what we have on offer this year:

Read more

Professor Serena Best CBE becomes IOM3 President

04 January 2019

We start the New Year with the news that Professor Serena Best has been welcomed by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) as their new President.   We offer our best wishes to Serena in her 2019 role!

Read more

Supporting the local Food Bank

06 December 2018

Staff and students at the Department of Materials Science have been generously donating festive foods and other trimmings recently and have been able to prepare 9 Christmas hampers to gift to the Cambridge City Food Bank's 2018 Hamper Appeal.  This year the Food Bank hopes to distribute 500...

Read more

Dr Rachel Evans awarded an ERC Consolidator grant

30 November 2018

Dr Rachel Evans has received an ERC Consolidator grant (2.1 m Euro) for her project SPECTRACON. In SPECTRACON Rachel, and her team, will develop new spectral conversion materials based on organic-inorganic hybrid polymers that will enable sunlight to be “shaped” into energies that can be used...

Read more

Showcase event held by MKG

27 November 2018

The Microstructural Kinetics Group (MKG) has recently held an event organised by Dr Jonathan Bean for members of the public to showcase some of the science and facilities in Cambridge physical sciences (Department of Materials Science and Cambridge Graphene Centre). The trip was also supported...

Read more

Obituary: Dr Ron Broom

27 November 2018

The Department is saddened to hear of Dr Ron Broom's death earlier this month.  

Ron Broom retired from his work as a semiconductor device scientist at IBM and came to live in Cambridge with his wife Davida. But retirement was not for him! Every day for many years, he came to the...

Read more

Dr Tongtong Zhu wins the 2018 CE Postdoc Business Plan Competition

08 November 2018

Congratulations to Dr Tongtong Zhu, a post-doc within the Department, who has won the 2018 Postdoc Business Plan Competition, run by Cambridge Enterprise with the Entrepreneurial Postdocs of Cambridge (EPOC). 

Tongtong gave a 3 minute pitch to a packed out Peterhouse theatre against 5...

Read more

New IoM3 Fellows

26 October 2018

Dr Rachel Evans and Dr Jason Robinson have recently been elected as Fellows of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (FIMMM). We congratulate them on this achievement.

Read more

Goldsmiths’ Company Funds Cambridge Research in Precious Metals

16 October 2018

A gift from the Goldsmiths’ Company Charity to support three new PhD studentships at Cambridge will advance research in precious metals and help develop new technical expertise.  The Goldsmiths’ Company programme in precious metals research, which will be based at Cambridge’s Department of...

Read more