skip to content

Dr Xavier Moya attends SRUK Emerging Talent Award presentation

14 December 2017

Dr Xavier Moya (above, centre) was presented with his SRUK Emerging Talent Award 2017 in a ceremony at the Spanish Embassy.   The presentation was made by Carlos Bastarrache Sagües, the Spanish Ambassador to the UK, Antonio Escámez, President of the Banco Santander Foundation (above, right),...

Read more

Jim Charles, 1926 – 2017

15 November 2017

We are deeply saddened to announce that Dr Jim Charles, Emeritus Reader in Metallurgy, died peacefully in Cambridge on 13 November 2017, aged 91.

Jim is remembered fondly.

Read more

Materials Science Postgraduate Open Day - 3rd November

19 October 2017

Interested in postgraduate study?  Come to the Department on Friday 3 November to hear about our research opportunities and taught courses, meet the academic staff, and have a guided tour with current students. All prospective students welcome.  Regular bus service from the centre of town to the...

Read more

Q&A with Prof Serena Best CBE

19 September 2017

September's issue of IOM3 Materials world magazine features a Q & A session with Professor Serena Best CBE FREng FIMMM.

Read more

Rolls Royce and the RR UTC shortlisted for an award at this year's THE Awards

07 September 2017

Rolls Royce has been shortlisted for its work with the universities of Cambridge, Birmingham and Swansea in the Most Innovative Contribution to Business-University Collaboration category at this year’s Times Higher Education Awards.  The Rolls Royce UTC has been part of the...

Read more

Postgraduate Open Day event - save the date - 3rd Nov

05 September 2017

The Department of Materials Science & Metallurgy will be participating in the University's Postgraduate Open Day on Friday 3 November. During the afternoon session at the Department there will be opportunities to discuss PhD projects, the MASt in Materials Science, and MPhil in Micro- and...

Read more

Professor Judith Driscoll to receive the IEEE Dr. James Wong Award

25 July 2017

The Council on Superconductivity has selected Professor Judith Driscoll to receive the IEEE Dr. James Wong Award for Continuing and Significant Contributions to Applied Superconductivity Materials Technology. This IEEE Award recognizes a living individual for a career of meritorious achievements...

Read more

Congratulations to Dr Xavier Moya

30 June 2017

Dr Xavier Moya has been awarded the Emerging Talent Award 2017, which is awarded by the Spanish Society of Researchers in the United Kingdom (SRUK) and the Santander Bank Foundation.

Read more

Congratulations to Prof Ruth Cameron

20 June 2017

Congratulations to Prof Ruth Cameron on being awarded the UK Society for Biomaterials President's Prize 2017. Ruth will be giving her prize winner's lecture at the UKSB annual conference at Loughborough University this week. The lecture is expected to be titled "Ice Templated Structures for...

Read more

Prof Serena Best receives a CBE

19 July 2017

Congratulations to Professor Serena Best on being awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours, for services to biomaterials engineering.

Read more